The Lounge of the Adventurer – lots of randomness with sprinkles made of comedy and a filling of our finest quality spite

US1960 Assignment: Relate your own personal experiences with alienation.

Posted on: 23 March 2009

[DIRECTOR’S CUT EDITION]

Alienation, huh? Far easier for me than anyone else here, I’d think.

I spent two years where my most treasured companions were those existing

only on the Internet. People who I don’t really have ever seen, people who I

haven’t been able to interact with properly; only hear stories about their

days, their adventures. Even with those who I would prefer to be with, I was

alone.

I spent an eternity at my schools, where nearly nobody could (or would)

properly share in all of my interests, in my mindset. At that age, to talk

about such things as the mechanism of the AK-47 assault rifle was

ludicrously limited by the school; to talk about such things as the latest

episode of an anime series was seen as girlish or whatever. Because few

dared to stand away from the norms, I was alone.

I began to have more time to stare inwards at myself, to examine the thought

processes that brought me to this point. While I’d like to know more about

myself, I honestly also enjoy having less knowledge – when things appear out

of me without warning, it’s enjoyable, mysterious, new, exciting. As a

result of wanting to look in at myself, people look away, and I am alone.

I carry or wear odd things. You know me. Long brown coat, not like anyone wears it during the summer. Wearing dapper stuff, instead of the standard schmuck that most modern teenagers wear. I’m not even going to touch on the bow.

I make some of the most outlandish statements that many have ever heard in their lives. You know this as well as anybody else.

Purposefully, I push away many who approach me. Most people who I wouldn’t integrate with would ignore me, anyways. That’s alright; that’s my way of saying “I’m sorry, but thank you for not burdening yourself with me” so that people don’t have to worry. It’s a way of making sure that people who don’t want to be affected by me, aren’t.

The real annoyances are the ones who try and make my life miserable for their own petty self-entertainment. They approach me and act like fools, as they are. I tell them to sod off. Granted, they serve one entertainment to me as well, but that I must say is a vice. Most would say that I shouldn’t take schadenfreude or that I shouldn’t be such a mean person; but to hell with that. They have brought it upon themselves by activating me, and acting as such fools when they do.

From there remain only a select few people who I may probably not scorn. These frew, I see, are closer to my true friends; people who share my interests or parts of them. I have a good amount of these, I’ll admit, but most of them really aren’t that close to me.

In the last few remain people who’ve properly been able to touch me. Those who I properly see as my equals in many fields.

You know who you are, you truly know who you are. We’re all alienated, ourselves; but that’s where we’re together.

Thanks, people.

1 Response to "US1960 Assignment: Relate your own personal experiences with alienation."

D’AAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWW

Leave a Reply

ABOUT THE HAWKING CHILD

My name is Daniel Hawking.

There are three fractions that make up this persona.

One of which is sealed closed via the physical realm of the world. One of which is unlocked via the medium known as the Internet. One of which is standing tall, watching over the wondrous horizon in front of him.

Of the first, this is the one most who have met me see, the one shunned, the one unappreciated, the one treated as entertainment instead of a colleague, the one shunted off to the side.

Of the second, only a select few have been able to meet. Coherency and truthful thoughts are the hallmarks of those knowing this fraction, as are trust and belief. Most of the dearest friends know of this section.

Of the third...? Revival of the finest order, as the phoenix of a prince rises from his own ashes. The adventurer, a traveler.

Regardless of fates, this is who I am now.

Daniel Hawking. Prince of Aralonia.

One of many.

A representative of Aralonia.

Together, the collective mindset of a nation.

People who've poked!

  • 10,005 pokes
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
